What’s So Good About a Master’s Anyway?

So I had a stark realization this past weekend (thanks to the help of my practical Dalton) that I will not be able to attend graduate school once I finish college in May.  I honestly thought I would be able to have a graduate assistantship, which would give me free tuition, keep my part-time job downtown at the RVRC, and go to school, while still managing to pay my rent and a new car payment (since I was planning on getting a new car when I graduate).  But I realize– actually, Dalton made me realize– that money would be extremely tight if I chose to go that route, whether I have a car payment or not.

So I have decided that when I graduate, I will just focus my efforts on finding a full-time job (or possibly turning my part-time job into a full-time job).  That way I can make great money, get great insurance benefits that I don’t have now, and start saving money for other things… mainly some nice pieces of furniture so Dalton and I can move out of University Crossing into something that’s just as nice, or nice, but much much cheaper.

My parents have also presented me with a very nice alternative to my car dilemma.  Even though my car is not a total piece of shit, it’s old and I would not feel comfortable taking it outside of Columbus just in case something were to happen.  That’s the main reason I would like a new car, and also because I’d like something with a little more room for when I have to tote stuff back and forth from work (not to mention, if I keep the job I have now, I will need some reliable transportation because of the amount of traveling we do across west central Georgia).  But anyway- back to their proposition…. They’re thinking about just giving me mom’s 2003 Toyota Corolla LE.  It only has 50,000 miles on it (which is FANTASTIC for a car that is already almost 8 years old) and there is absolutely nothing wrong with it.  And the better part is, I’M GETTING IT FOR FREE!  You simply can’t beat that, now can you?

So I won’t have a car payment, but I’ve agreed that once I get a steady job I’ll pay for the insurance (which is only $56 month- very affordable).  This way, this allows me to start putting good amounts of money aside to get some nice furniture.  Some people don’t understand why I want to save up so much money, but frankly, if I’m paying for it, I want to know that it’s brand new, good quality, and that no one else’s ass has sat on it.  Call me picky, but I think I have a right to not get hand-me down, yard sale furniture if I’m forgoing a new car.

As far as turning my part-time job into a full-time career, it can definitely happen.  Granted, I won’t be making that awesome 40K as soon as I graduate, I’m going to be at a job that I genuinely enjoy and a job where I know I get to make a difference in several people’s lives.  That is extremely rewarding.  And working for an office with 23 other employees is quite beneficial too because, here, I’m Kayra, not employee #357 in Cubicle 2A.  I’m not helping a rich company get richer; I’m working to improve the quality of life for others.  That’s pretty awesome, if I do say so myself.

Basically, what I’m getting to is that my life after graduation will be good, and I can stop worrying so much.  Everything will fall into place, just like it always does.

Leave a Reply

